Thank you to everyone who joined us to recognize achievements in safety!

The Safety Pinnacle Awards Gala recognizes the continuing achievements of organizations who have invested in achieving and maintaining certification of their safety management systems. It recognizes the safety innovators in the sector, and the teams and individuals who are driving safety excellence in the workplace.

The Pinnacle Awards reward those who go above and beyond.

Starting with the Topaz award and graduating to the Diamond, each award is measured with criteria that demonstrates the commitment of the recipients’ leadership to the safety and well-being of their workers. To read more about the criteria for each award level, please visit our Pinnacle Award page.


Safety Pinnacle Award


Safety Pinnacle Award


Safety Pinnacle Award


Safety Pinnacle Award


Safety Pinnacle Award

New Awards Recognize Innovation & Excellence

At the 2019 Gala we introduced new award categories:

— Finalists—
Kerry Canada
Kingfisher Boats

Garaventa Lift
Mauser Packaging Solutions
Pinnacle Renewable Energy

Highland Foundry, Robert Leepart
Kerry Canada, Jason Rayner
Kingfisher Boats, Randy Chretien

Daiya Foods, Sharleen Dean

Penticton Foundry

Knight Signs

Daneen Skilling Scholarship in OHS

Congratulations to Christopher Lung, the first recipient of the new Daneen Skilling Scholarship in OHS Studies—a $2,500 scholarship in support of a student pursuing a career in Occupational Health and Safety!

2019 Ben Hume Award Finalists

In 2019, three finalists were nominated to receive the Ben Hume Leadership award.

Chris Inkster

Chris Inkster


Chris Inkster is the President of Freeport Industries, a custom manufacturer of modular structures for industrial, residential and institutional use that employs 80-90 people. Freeport was part of the first safety pooling system (SPS) group and under his leadership successfully challenged the OSSE audit after only 14 months. 

Chris holds a Bachelor of Management and Diplomas of Technology in Wood Products Manufacturing and Forestry from BCIT. He has 19 years’ experience in plywood plant, sawmilling/log yards, and modular manufacturing. 

Bary marsden

Barry Marsden


Barry is a founding member of Conair and in his role as Chairman and CEO provides continued strategic development, direction, guidance and support to the executive management team. He started with Conair as a pilot, accumulating in excess of 10,000 hours over a flying career that started in 1958. In addition to an ATR license, Barry was also a licensed aircraft maintenance engineer. Barry became Chairman of the Board of Conair Group Inc. in 2007 and prior to that served in several other capacities including Operations Manager, Director of Operations, Vice President and General Manager and as President and CEO. In March of 2006 Barry was awarded the “Medaille De L’Aeronautique” by the Republic of France.  In May of 2009, Barry was inducted into Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame. In 2014 Barry received the Order of British Columbia and the Order of Canada. 

Perry McDougall

Perry McDougall


Perry McDougall is the current President of Goodwin Industrial Electric and has been involved with the organization for 32 years. He is focused on business development; marketing, quoting large projects, contract negotiations, and is deeply involved with the safety culture. McDougall sits on the board of directors with the Granby group of companies (Goodwin Industrial Electric, Bridge Electric, Argo Industrial Electric, and Vanguard equipment) as well as the BC Electrical Association. He is a member of the steering committee for the industrial manufacturing sector for the BC Industry Training Authority. He is a signatory member of the BC Safety Charter since March of 2014. 

Years of Safety Excellence

Take a look back at some of the Gala memories of years past.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship opportunities are available for this event. Please contact Jennifer Wiebe for more information.

Phone 1.604.795.9595 ext 222