Safety Pinnacle Awards Criteria

Safety Pinnacle Awards Criteria

Starting with the Topaz award and graduating to the Diamond, each award is measured with criteria that demonstrates the commitment of the recipients’ leadership to the safety and well-being of their workers. We gather annually to celebrate the success of companies who have achieved excellence in safety at the Pinnacle Awards Gala.


Topaz Award

Safety Pinnacle Topaz Award

This award is granted to companies who have successfully developed and implemented a comprehensive health & safety management system to OSSE (Occupational Safety Standard Excellence) certification standards.

Sapphire Award

Safety Pinnacle Sapphire Award

The Occupational Safety Standard of Excellence or COR audit requires that company owners and executives demonstrate commitment to workplace health and safety. But we know that an effective long-term health and safety performance requires ongoing commitment to health and safety continuous improvement from the top. 

The Sapphire Award recognizes an organization for continuing leadership commitment to workplace health and safety excellence. 

To qualify for the Sapphire Pinnacle Award and maintain eligibility for subsequent levels, the owner or senior executive in the organization or BC location(s) must demonstrate a commitment to health and safety by participating in a mix of related training, advocacy, leadership, and mentorship activities to earn development points each year. 

The annual eligibility requirement is 14 points, tracked from January to December of the qualifying year, earned through any combination of the following activities. Please use this form to record eligible activities and submit by February 29th.

Continuing Education
Training on leadership or health and safety-related topics (professional development courses, Make It Safe or other conferences, webinars, peer groups, forum events)
1 hour = 1 point
Advocacy and Leadership
Speaking or presenting as part of a panel on leadership or health and safety topics, including preparation time
1 hour = 2 points
Mentorship in leadership and health and safety
1 hour = 2 points
Advisory Service
Served as a director or representative on a health and safety board or committee
5 points
BC Safety Charter Commitment
Signed the BC Safety Charter and maintained active membership in the Executive Health & Safety Council of BC
5 points
Emerald Award

Safety Pinnacle Emerald Award

This award is granted to companies maintaining their OSSE Certification;  continuing leadership commitment to workplace health and safety excellence, as demonstrated by ongoing CEO/President or Owner/Operator professional development and continuous improvement; and reducing their Injury Rate below their average Classification Unit (CU) over a 3 year period.

Ruby Award

Safety Pinnacle Ruby Award

This award is for companies continuing to meet the criteria for the Emerald Award while demonstrating the ability to improve their Experience Rating by 10% over a period of 3 years post OSSE Certification.

Diamond Award

Safety Pinnacle Diamond Award

This award is for companies maintaining their eligibility for the Ruby Award while demonstrating new ideas or initiatives to improve health and safety systems/programs.  They must also have an Injury Rate among the lowest 10% in their Classification Unit and score a minimum of 80% on a Safety Culture Survey conducted by the Alliance and administered through the Alliance Special Awards Committee